Links

Using “Create a room”

Easily create Whereby rooms using a straightforward 4-step UI flow without the need to generate an API key.

Creating rooms

The fastest way to get started with creating Whereby Embedded rooms is through the “Create a room” flow, which can be launched from the “Get started” and “Rooms” sections in your Whereby Embedded account's Dashboard.
First screen of the "Create Room" flow, allowing customers to create a room with no code.
The wizard consists of 4 self-explanatory steps:
  1. 1.
    Pick your preferred room size: small or large;
  2. 2.
    Set up recording;
  3. 3.
    Set up streaming;
  4. 4.
    Set an optional room prefix and an expiration date;
And that's all there is to it!
The Room Overview page that follows gives you a view at a glance of what you have configured, features handy host and participant links, and generates a code snippet you can include in your website.
If you want to review these room details again at a later point in time, you can find an overview of all rooms you've created (incl. demo rooms and rooms generated through the API) in the new “Rooms” section that's linked from the sidebar.
While the “Create a room” flow is perfect for getting started, and is probably sufficient if you only need to create a handful of meeting rooms, we recommend looking into the REST API documentation to generate rooms on-the-fly, and unlock the full power of Whereby Embedded.

Deleting rooms and endDate

Creating rooms via the API, produces a room with a unique URL and a limited lifespan. There's no need to worry about meetings conflicting or rooms being used for other purposes after the intended session.
The endDate property is used to indicate the time at which the room will be marked for deactivation. It does not indicate when a meeting will end and remove participants.
One hour after the endDate things like Webhook events, host privileges, new cloud recordings, and minutes consumption will no longer function. The room will then automatically be deleted within 24 hours of the endDate provided.
If you'd like to limit the length of a meeting and verify a room is no longer being used, you can delete a room via API request. A deletion request will remove all participants and prevent any further use. You can also keep track of when a session start via webhooks to limit a meeting by length.
Last modified 4mo ago